Jeff Harnar Award Winners Announced

April 23, 2021

The University of New Mexico School of Architecture and the Thornburg Foundation wish to congratulate this year’s Jeff Harnar Award winners. The awards were announced by the jury on April 16th following a lecture by Snøhetta partners Elaine Molinar and Craig Dykers. The top prize of Contemporary Architecture in the Southwest was awarded to Dust Architects, of Phoenix, Arizona, for their Casa Caldera. Congratulations Cade Manning Hayes and Jesús Edmundo Robles, Jr.

The Jeff Harnar Awards program was created by Garrett Thornburg in 2007 to honor the memory of Jeff Harnar and help continue his groundbreaking work in the area of contemporary design. In 2018, the award program was expanded to include Unbuilt Work and Landscape Architecture. In 2020, the program was further expanded to include six categories: Contemporary Architecture in the Southwest, An Emerging Practice in New Mexico, Unbuilt Architecture, Unbuilt Landscape Architecture, Student Architecture Award, and Student Landscape Architecture Award.

To see the other Jeff Harnar winners, please visit

Jeff Harnar Award Winners Image