School of Medicine Memorial Design Competition Winners Announced

February 19, 2013

The UNM School of Medicine has announced that Christine M. Williams, in association with the Albuquerque design firm Garrett Smith Ltd., has won the limited design competition for an envisioned memorial to be constructed on the north campus of the university through the creativity of landscape architecture. The design is entitled, "The People's Heartbeat." The memorial is intended to commemorate former faculty members of the School of Medicine who are now deceased and recognition of current faculty, and will be located at the south end of the Canyon Garden, within the Sculpture Garden on the campus of the UNM Health Sciences Center.

Beginning in July 2014 the School of Medicine will begin a year-long celebration of the 50th Anniversary of its first entering medical student class.  An overarching theme of the anniversary activities is "it's all about the people" - a theme that acknowledges the central role of the dedicated faculty in the success and recognition of the School of Medicine.  Accordingly, a capstone event of the celebration will be the dedication of the completed outdoor Memorial.

The other Stage II finalists for the competition were Javan Chapple, in association with The Design Group of NM, and Ben Ortega, in Association with SMPC Architects.  Also formally recognized for their design submissions (entries for Stage I of the competition) and receiving Citation Awards were Meredith Ellis and Andrew Bernard.

Commenting on the winning entry, Philip Eaton, Emeritus Vice President of the UNM Health Sciences Center, noted, "This memorial captures the imagination of children through grandparents in a comforting celebration of People and the Human Body.  The landscape sculpture will be a destination for visitors of all ages throughout the years to come."

Sponsored by the UNM School of Medicine, the competition was been organized by the UNM School of Architecture and Planning, and was conducted over a four month time frame.  A total of $17,000 in prize money has been awarded. Eligible competitors included members of the AIA/NM Young Architects Forum, currently enrolled Graduate Students at the UNM School of Architecture and Planning, and emerging professionals in architecture and landscape architecture in New Mexico.

The Jurors (Selection Committee) for the design competition were Gene Dyer, AIA, Architect; Robert Doran, AIA, University Architect; Geoff Adams, AIA, and Alf Simon, FCSLA; representing the School of Architecture and Planning, and Laura J. Hall, Dr. Philip Eaton, and Dr. Jeffrey Griffith, representing the School of Medicine.   Roger Schluntz, FAIA, served as the Professional Advisor.