JEFF HARNAR AWARDS 2024

Sponsored by The Thornburg Foundation and the University of New Mexico School of Architecture + Planning (SA+P).

Applications now open, deadline March 11, 2024. Submit at <u>jeffharnaraward.slideroom.com</u>. To view the full application click "Preview Full Application" at the bottom of each category's page.

PROFESSIONAL CATEGORIES

Eligibility for Professional Awards: Open to architects and design firms based anywhere in the world. Previous recipients of the award are eligible to enter new works. The submitted building must be located in one of the Four Corner states (Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico, Utah) and have been completed between January 1, 2018 and December 31, 2023.

• Contemporary Architecture in the Southwest: This award recognizes recently completed works of architecture in the Four Corner states of Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico, and Utah. Entries should push the definition of exemplary design in the Southwest. Entrants must succinctly explain how they will use the \$10,000 to encourage diversity, equity, and inclusion within their firm. One winning project will be selected. There are no finalists.

PRIZE: \$10,000 (To be used to support diversity, equity, and inclusion in the recipient's practice.)

ENTRY FEE: \$200 per entry

• **Unbuilt Architecture:** This award recognizes recent unbuilt and conceptual works of architecture in the Four Corner states of Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico, and Utah. Entries should push the definition of exemplary design in the Southwest. One winning project will be selected. There are no finalists.

PRIZE: \$3000

ENTRY FEE: \$150 per entry

Unbuilt Landscape Architecture: This award recognizes recent unbuilt and conceptual
works of landscape architecture in the Four Corners states of Arizona, Colorado, New
Mexico, and Utah. Entries should push the definition of exemplary design in the
Southwest. One winning project will be selected. There are no finalists.

PRIZE: \$3,000

ENTRY FEE: \$150 per entry

Professional awards will be juried by Gabriel Diaz Montemayor (University of Arkansas), Ben Gilmartin (Diller Scofidio + Renfro), and Erin Moore (University of Oregon). Best of Show submissions will be selected for a digital exhibition following the Awards Ceremony, held at the UNM School of Architecture + Planning (George Pearl Hall) on the evening of Friday, April 12, 2024.

STUDENT CATEGORIES

Eligibility for Student Awards: Open to recent graduates (2021-2023) and students currently enrolled at a school in an accredited program of architecture or landscape architecture in the United States. All graduate students are eligible. Undergraduates must be in the last two years of their respective programs. Students may submit team entries. One student shall serve as the point of contact and submit one entry on behalf of the team. You will be asked to select your field (Architecture/ Landscape Architecture) in the application. Projects must be located in the Southwestern United States and focus on regionally specific design challenges and solutions. The project locations for the student category may expand the definition of the Southwest beyond the Four Corner states of NM, AZ, CO, and UT, to include arid lands in the adjacent states. This may include projects in the Chihuahuan Desert ecoregion of West Texas and the Sonoran and Mojave Desert ecoregions of CA and NV.

• Architecture: This student award recognizes design excellence by a current student(s) or recent graduate(s) (2021-2023) enrolled in an accredited program of architecture in the United States.

PRIZE: First Place \$2000, Second Place \$1000

ENTRY FEE: \$20 per entry

• Landscape Architecture: This student award recognizes design excellence by a current student(s) or recent graduate(s) (2021-2023) enrolled in an accredited program of landscape architecture in the United States.

PRIZE: First Place \$2000, Second Place \$1000

ENTRY FEE: \$20 per entry

Student awards will be juried by Jeff Day (University of Nebraska-Lincoln), Claudia Meyer Horn (Design Office), and Anya Sirota (University of Michigan). Best of Show submissions will be selected for a digital exhibition following the Awards Ceremony, held at the UNM School of Architecture + Planning (George Pearl Hall) on the evening of Friday, April 12, 2024.

OPEN CATEGORY

Social Justice in Architecture: One project will be selected from all the Jeff Harnar Award entries for the other categories for this distinguished award. This award recognizes architecture and landscape architecture projects that aspire to use design as a vehicle for social justice. The distinguished project will use innovation and design to resolve inequities involving diversity, equity, and inclusion within their community. This project will be included in the Best of Show group selected for a digital exhibition following the Awards Ceremony April 12, 2024, held at the UNM School of Architecture + Planning. The jurors from each Jeff Harnar Award category will consider each entry for this distinction. There is no separate submission for this award. This award will be juried by Jeff Day (University of Nebraska-Lincoln), Gabriel Diaz Montemayor (University of Arkansas), Ben Gilmartin (Diller Scofidio + Renfro), Claudia Meyer Horn (Design Office), Erin Moore (University of Oregon), and Anya Sirota (University of Michigan).

PRIZE: \$3,000